Kelli Stevens Kane – Poem

(66)

from Hallelujah Science

I cut a record in dreamland
to give the world a taste of its own medicine
I cut patterns for dresses for angels in black fabric
I cut the moon out of cookie dough and bake it at 350 degrees
I cut split ends from my hair and drop them down into a Frisbee
I cut my finger on the thin blade of a wide ruled loose-leaf
I cut a cucumber with a pocket knife into whole half-circles
I cut a moment and watch it sprout
a million minute petals
they pick me up
and carry me
back to the beginning,
(once upon a time)
where there are no
sharp
things.

2 thoughts on “Kelli Stevens Kane – Poem

Leave a Reply

